ar-cb2 Looking for scholarly journal, peer-reviewed journal, magazine, or newspaper articles? You’re in the right place!

Students, faculty, and staff can access all library databases from off-campus after selecting one by logging in with their student/staff ID and last name. Ask a librarian, if you have questions accessing databases and eJournals.

Database Search Tips

General Guideline
Use 2-4 search terms that describe the source you need. 
Add Keywords
Narrow the focus of your results by adding additional keywords. 
Replace Keywords
Broaden your results by replacing search terms with similar, related, broader, or narrower terms. 
Broaden Results
by expanding search to All Text
Narrow Results
by limiting search to just the article titles, subjects, or abstracts.
Limit Results
by date, subject, source type, and other characteristics.

Other Online Databases

Available to all users with a public library card.

Orange County Public Library
OCPL eLibrary Card application
Los Angeles Public Library
LAPL Library Card application

Databases A-Z

America’s Historical Newspapers (1690-2000)

 Find news articles covering topics in government, politics, social issues, culture, literature discoveries, inventions and more from hundreds of primary sources. (Trial good through March 3, 2017.)


Choice Reviews

Review journal of new academic titles.


Chronicle Career Library

Over 2,000 jobs or employment information briefs.


Country Watch

Basic information about countries of the world.


CQ Researcher

Current and controversial topics and issues in the news.


EBSCOhost service

eBooks and multiple subject-specific periodical databases including, peer-reviewed scholarly journals, popular magazines, trade publications and newspapers. Please note that not all periodical titles are full text (i.e., contain the text of the complete article). EBSCOhost’s youtube channelEBSCOhost’s iPhone and Smart Phone App instructions.


Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Current and controversial social issues published in magazines, newspapers, reference and statistical sources, and primary documents. How to search Opposing Viewpoints in Context.


Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)

Encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries, and other reference tools.


JSTOR

Over 1,000 academic journals and other scholarly content assist scholars, researchers, and students to discover, use, and build upon a wide range of content, including the humanities, math and statistics. How to Search JSTOR.


LexisNexis Academic: 

Over 10,000 legal, business, and news resources — news offerings include The Orange County Register full-text articles from 1987-present, rolling 6-month coverage of Los Angeles Times, and up-to-the-minute stories in other regional and national newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources. Access Shepard’s Citations® service for all federal and states court cases back to 1789. Use the Company Dossier module to retrieve detailed company information and financial performance measures, or identify and compare companies matching specific criteria. LexisNexisAcademic youtube channel.


MathSciNet

Search this database for reviews, abstracts, and bibliographic information for mathematical sciences literature.


Newsweek Web Reader Issue Library

Read interactive issues of Newsweek in your browser. 1. Click on an issue. 2. Start reading.  3. Enter username <librarian@fullcoll.edu> and password <newsweek> when the “Read More” page appears.


NoodleBib: 

Generate, edit, and publish an MLA Works Cited, APA References, orChicago/Turabian bibliography that can be imported into Word. Please note: After being authenticated through the library subscription, you must also create your own personal ID by clicking on “Create Personal ID.” If you already have created a personal ID, enter it to access your saved work.


Opposing Viewpoints in Context: 

Current and controversial social issues published in magazines, newspapers, reference and statistical sources, and primary documents. How to search Opposing Viewpoints in Context.


Rand California: 

A collection of more than 100 statistical databases covering California with many at the county, city and zip code level.  Some coverage of other states as well.


Science Online/AAAS: 

The online version of Science magazine includes access to the most recently published, award-winning news content and high-impact, peer-reviewed research. Science online is accessed by several million viewers worldwide who download more than 24 million full-text articles per year.


Springer eBook Collection

Uses PDF and HTML formats to reproduce Springer print books. Under the Fullerton College Library subscription, Fullerton College students, faculty, and staff may download and print a personal copy of Springer electronic titles without incurring a charge from Springer.